Daily Archives: October 27, 2006

Encouragement

Encouragement…..Yes! I hate to admit it, but I think I may be a tad bit externally motivated. I like to think that I am intrisically motivated to do things that I like/am good at, but why do I procrastinate so much? Take, for example, this blog. After I wrote the first one, I thought, “This is great! I can’t wait to write the next one.” Just look at the date…Is it October 27th already? Didn’t I just write my first one? I can let time pass quicker than a frog’s tongue (that one was for hubby…he “loves” my odd analogies/malappropisms). Truthfully, though, I think it was the one lonely comment at the end of blog. I should be grateful for one!!! I haven’t even sent my blogspot out to my friends yet. Well, I did send it to one, but she didn’t leave a comment. It was yesterday that I realized I long for comments, or shall I say “encouragement.” Mary, the brilliant homemaker, canner, homeschooler and word-smith at Owlhaven, said to me, “I enjoyed your blog…you better keep writing!” So here I am, writing!! Thanks Mary, for the encouragement. I have decided that something is better than nothing. Everything I write doesn’t have to sit in my incubator for days…waiting for the perfect expression or phrase, or the coveted comment. I haven’t flexed my writing muscles for a long time…I fear they are a bit flaccid, but if you see that it is suddenly December, and still no post, please don’t be afraid to “encourage” me!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized, Words and Writing