Blogging, Quicksand, and a Bubble Bath

I think that I must have subconsciously chosen a fast from blogging for Lent, because since it has begun, I’ve logged on once to post. Once. And I haven’t even lurked around on my favorite sites, either.

Being away nine days plus another out-of-town soccer tournament weekend in March has made for one busy mama. How do you recover from all those extra husband-rich days (i.e. weekend) away from laundry catch-up, grocery shopping, and lesson planning? They say that women are better multi-taskers than men, but I think that my multi-tasking neurons never connected. I am one of those who deeply concentrates on one thing at a time, and it’s usually my own thoughts, so I can be pretty unproductive outside my noggin. Add disorder and playing catch-up to my one track mind and I can easily feel like I am trying to climb out of quicksand.

All of these days away from my computer has made me think about how I use my time. Spring sports have begun and I have less free time now than when I first began blogging in the lull between fall and spring sports. I know that there are busier moms than me who find time to blog, lesson plan, clean, cook, etc. If I can discipline myself to schedule a thirty minute time block to blog, and stick to it, I would still be able to write and read other blogs a little. I like to think of blogging as my mental organization time, akin to untangling colored thread in a well-used sewing box. But it’s not all verbal housekeeping. It is also a little like taking a mental bubble bath as well.

Like busy mamas everywhere, I just hope that I can squeeze in a relaxing ‘soak in the tub’ from time to time.

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts, Words and Writing

One response to “Blogging, Quicksand, and a Bubble Bath

  1. Nita

    Glad you’re just busy and not lost in the mountain of laundry caused by too many stay-at-home-mom days not staying at home. I too ride the thin line between activities (they are the reson I love homeschooling) and the HOME of homeschooling. It’s all about balance!

Leave a Reply

