Writer’s Block, Blog Envy, and Perseverance

I’ve decided to break my writer’s block by just throwing out whatever comes to mind. The first thing is that I don’t think I really have writer’s block, but I have started two unpublished detailed blogs that have had me stymied and I have drawn many more blanks recently when I sit down to blog. I can’t remember who said it, but he/she said that writing in itself isn’t difficult, it is narrowing the nearly infinite number of ways to write something that is difficult. (100 bingo-points to the person who can reference this quote! Was it Virginia Woolf?)

Anyway, I had no difficulty at all until I started reading so many blogs. “Oooh, wow, I love the way she said that!” or “I wish I could be so clever” and so on. The more I thought about writing, the less natural it seemed. So enough…I am just going to keep going for the sake of going.

One of my besetting sins is the tendency to despair and self-pity. I hear myself say all too often, “I’ve always been [messy, forgetful, a procrastinator…]” or “I never can [keep something good going, keep to a schedule, etc.], and leave it at that, as if God isn’t capable of changing me! I found that thought creeping in today, as in “Oh well, I guess I only had a good couple of months of writing in me…I’ve never been able to stick to anything.” But I can’t let that negative thought get me. Writing everyday or nearly everyday has been one of the best things I have done for myself, and inadvertently my family, in a long time. I am able to step back and see things in my life from a different perspective, to laugh at the daily happenings in my family, and help untangle my jumbled thoughts. Envy and pride would love to stumble me, but I am now onto them. Isn’t knowing your enemy half the battle?

6 Comments

Filed under Thoughts, Words and Writing

6 responses to “Writer’s Block, Blog Envy, and Perseverance

  1. I certainly understand what you’re saying. I often suffer from blogger’s envy, thinking that others hold the key to wise words. Then I remember that we’re all unique, but some of us anguish over it more than others.

    For what it’s worth, I think you express yourself beautifully. Honesty is a wonderful trait.

  2. It’s worth a lot! Thanks, Melissa!

  3. Jen

    I look forward to your postings and would really miss them! Please keep on!!

  4. Jeanne

    I’m glad you will keep on writing. I can’t wait to see some pictures!

  5. Nita

    If you stop writing I will have nothing to read in the morning with my first cup of coffee! 🙂

    I have only read a few other blogs in my life and truly look forward to yours! Keep keepin on!

  6. Boy, you guys are great! What a boost!

Leave a Reply

