Tooth Decay in My Breastfed Baby?

Good news! I won’t have to put my 20 month old under sedation and she won’t have to have silver teeth, either. Whew!

A few months ago I noticed, to my absolute dismay, white spots along the gum line of her four front top teeth. Decalcification. Pre-cursor to tooth decay. Then, a few weeks ago I noticed a tan hole in one of her teeth. Agh. The decay had begun. All I could do was picture silver teeth and a knocked-out baby in an OR.

It’s called “Baby Bottle Tooth Decay” or BBTD, although it does happen in breastfed babies, too. I had heard that it could happen but I never really thought it would happen to one of mine. My youngest is a bit of a nurse-o-maniac, but this usually will only happen in breastfed babies with weak enamel. Poor baby. Did I not get enough calcium when her teeth were forming? The guilt sets in…

Thursday, we drove over four hours to a pediatric dentist my brother recommended. I wasn’t about to turn my baby over to be anesthetized by someone I had never heard of. And the dentist had to use a hospital, too. Thankfully, he took a peek and said that he could take care of this with a small filling without sedation in a couple of minutes. It is unusual to be able to treat it this way, but thankfully we caught it early enough. Apparently, most children don’t see a dentist until there is already a lot of decay. So, happily, we will go back in a week. We will have to hold her still and there will be some crying, but it won’t hurt her. That is so much better than full sedation! The thought of all of those chemicals washing through her brain over baby teeth made me sick.

Hallelujah! Oh, and be sure and brush your children’s teeth well tonight!

5 Comments

Filed under Babies & Kids

5 responses to “Tooth Decay in My Breastfed Baby?

  1. Oh, hooray! What good news! One of our Ethiopian daughters came home with weak enamel on all her eyeteeth. She had two caps done under sedation, and has had a filling since then. It’s a pain…

    Mary

  2. Glad your story had a happy ending. We floss and brush to distraction since my mouth is just full of fillings.

    Btw, wanted to tell you that I’ve changed my blog address/name too. Just so you’d know it’s not Thoughts of Home anymore but Tea with Milk. The address is only slightly different. It’s http://themothershour.com/teatime/

    Take care.

  3. mom24bbs

    Wow, how scary. I’ve been so fortunate not to have any issues with my kids’ teeth yet. I really don’t know how I’d deal even if it was my 9, oops, I mean, 10 yo. (gotta remember that. lol)

    Praying she (and you) does well and that this will be the end of it.

  4. Tooth pain can be a indication of many various things. It can be caused by swelling of the gums, a pustule ( an infection that develops in the tooth root or between the tooth and gum ), a cracked tooth, a dislodged filling, or the commonest culprit, a cavity. However, often a toothache is due to something as simple as trapped food between the teeth. The particles of food can irritate the gums and the agony can radiate into the encompassing teeth.

    Read More from Dentist in Finchley

  5. Roman Eagar

    Tooth decay is a result of bacteria that lives and stays on the mouth. When a person does not always brush his teeth after eating, the bacteria, which feed on the leftover starches and sugars from the food eaten, form a clinging plaque on the teeth surface. The acids formed by the bacteria can penetrate through the enamel of the tooth, thus, creating cavity. This will then result to a painful sensation that is generally called as toothache.:

    Most current article content on our personal blog
    <.http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/nursing-diagnosis-for-diabetes/

Leave a Reply

