My Linguistic Profile



Your Linguistic Profile:

55% General American English
20% Dixie
10% Yankee
5% Midwestern
5% Upper Midwestern

What Kind of American English Do You Speak?

I took this little test today. Kind of fun. But they left out ‘Texan’ as a category. After living in Dixieland for awhile, I can attest that Texans deserve their own category. Where else do you find phrases like “might could,” “fixin to”, and “tumpt over?”

What phrase was it, Jen, that you dogged me pointed out to me in my blog a few weeks back? I can’t even remember what I said, but I do remember not ever having thought about it as being incorrect. I’m sure I can blame it on my unique linguistic upbringing!

UPDATE: I realized later that I do say “catty corner” instead of “diagonal” when giving directions.  This is how that one answer changed my profile.

Your Linguistic Profile:
55% General American English
25% Dixie
5% Midwestern
5% Upper Midwestern
5% Yankee

What Kind of American English Do You Speak?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Words and Writing

3 responses to “My Linguistic Profile

  1. Jeanne

    I think it is odd that you have a higher percentage of midwestern than I do (I actually had 0%) and I lived there for many years!

  2. Jen

    You said “snuck”. The word snuck has in the past few years sneaked it’s way into the dictionary, but people who use proper English don’t use the word “snuck”. In the words of Sanford and Son, “once you talk proper English ain’t nobody gonna take that from you”.

  3. Jen, I knew you wouldn’t let me down!

Leave a Reply

