Is it Friday already?

I can’t believe that it is already Friday! What a week. Our house has been the sick house since last Friday. Over the course of a week, two, maybe even three separate viruses (or is it virii?) have made their way through all four children.

It never fails to amaze me how a mother can feel when her children are sick, especially when the littlest ones fall ill. My previously invincible toddler suddenly seems very fragile and a cold fear can take hold of me if I don’t keep myself immersed in prayer. Since Monday she has literally clung to me and about smothered me at night by sleeping (if you could call writhing all night sleeping) right on top of me.

They would, of course, get sick the week I have been on-call to be a doula for a couple about to birth their second baby. I was so worried! There was NO WAY I could have left my littlest with even my husband, but God had all of the details lined up. Early Thursday morning, she suddenly was able to lie flat and actually slept soundly for a little while. Her fever broke and she peeled herself away from me to play Thursday morning with her siblings. I got the call at 11:30 a.m. from the couple that “This is it!” My dear, dear, loving husband came home from work to watch the kids, and after a very quick and beautiful birth, I was back home by 4:30 p.m. Incredible. It was like a little island of relief in our ocean of woe.

The baby slept terribly again last night and my 4 y/o woke up with an earache. The party continues…

1 Comment

Filed under Babies & Kids, Giving Thanks

One response to “Is it Friday already?

  1. Nita

    Ahhh a new life – a healthy new baby – so beautiful! What a nice break between caring for your family – a little sweet treasure to energize and refresh you!

Leave a Reply

