To all you northerners…

…wet sleeves are the worst! How do you stand it all winter long?

It’s actually been cold here for about a week, and I am finding myself dreading washing my hands, or doing the dishes for fear of the blasted wet sleeves. The worst of it is, the durn things never seem to dry in the cold. My old house is draughty enough, without, b-r-r-r, that constant clamminess clinging to my wrists.

I know, I know. I can hear you now telling me to try rolling my sleeves up, but then, well…it’s cold with my sleeves up!

Don’t get me wrong, I love the cold weather for a change, but I am sure am glad that in a few days we might have a day or two in the 80’s. I’ll be certain and go outside and hang all of my wet shirts on the line.

UPDATE:  I tried my own advice, pushed up my sleeves, but that still doesn’t work, especially when washing dishes.  The water trickled backwards and still found its way to wet my sleeves.  Then, when I least expected it, my pushed up sleeve slipped and down into the water it went.    Bah humbug…grumble, grumble…

2 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

2 responses to “To all you northerners…

  1. Jeanne

    I think I would enjoy the cold weather more if this old house had insulation! I roll my sleeves up and have no problems, but my girls are always getting their sleeves wet and it doesn’t seem to bother them in the least. They also enjoy walking around on our cold wooden floors barefoot (while wearing their short sleeved dance leotards.)

  2. In the mountains of northern Nevada we just always put up with it–along with the annual cold and sniffles and humidity-being-sucked-out-of-the-air-static-electricity that made you spark across the carpet or arc when you touched someone or something else and the windshield scrapping and snow shoveling and icicles on my mustache and so forth and so on… We just dealt with it and-to be honest-never gave it another thought because we’d always had to deal with it. I remember the cold wet sleeves though: long sleeved wool shirts were best to wear.

Leave a Reply

