Pride, Socks, and My Thanksgiving Menu

I have invited some family members from out of town to come and share Thanksgiving with us.  One of the side benefits of getting ready for guests is that I am forced to do some deep cleaning and organizing.

By now, surely you have realized that this is something I struggle with, but I am beginning to wonder if God is using my disorganization to keep me humble.   How fast pride can creep in my life!!  No sooner than I get my “office” a new filing cabinet, my drawers tidy with everything I need within reach, I start thinking how great I am and feeling smug about my fabulous room.  Then, after I finally cleaned and sorted the tubs of junk in my laundry and bedroom, I really started going.  Vainglory trumped my secret shame.

I knew it was getting out of hand when some friends stopped by unexpectedly yesterday.  Usually, I live in terror of the unexpected guest (no, really, do stop by for a visit, just don’t look at the floor very closely), and my heart really starts to pound when they innocently wind their way into my bedroom.  But I was thinking of almost pushing my friends into my bedroom.  “Oh wow,” I could hear them say, “What a nice bedroom, how clean it is.”  What could I be thinking?  In that very same bedroom just two days ago, I gathered an entire box of mismatched socks that I had gathered from the four corners of the house.  The box kept growing when finally I decided I needed to count the socks.

I stopped at 203.  Yep, I am not kidding.  That’s an average of over 30 socks per person.  And that is not even counting what is in the drawers.

I wonder how many times over the past year I had bought a new package of socks because I heard, “Mom!  I don’t have any socks!”

I have been praying for years to be more organized.  I think that now I need to be praying for humility first.

Now, my Thanksgiving Menu.  I like to keep it traditional and simple:

Roast Turkey, Cornbread Dressing (GF, of course), Cranberry Sauce, Gravy, Sweet Potatoes, New Potatoes, Green Bean Casserole (a must for DH), Rolls, and a Green Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette, Pecans and Dried Cranberries.  This year I am adding a Walnut Loaf for the vegetarians.

Desserts:  Pumpkin Pie, Pecan Pie, Whipped Cream and Gingerbread, Caramel Apples.

Happy Thanksgiving!

2 Comments

Filed under Giving Thanks, His Banner over Me, Homemaking&Cooking, Thoughts

2 responses to “Pride, Socks, and My Thanksgiving Menu

  1. Jeanne

    I ate it and the Walnut Loaf was fantastic. And so was the Butternut Squash Lasagna. The meat eaters were eating seconds as well! These recipes would also be great to include for Christmas dinner. Thank you for being so thoughtful of your vegetarian guests.

  2. Hey people, it’s Thanksgiving Day! I’m enjoying my extra day off, and I am planning to doing something fun that will probably involve a bike ride and seeing something new in Laurel I haven’t seen yet.
    You write new post at Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

