The Third Night is the Charm, Right?

This is the third night I will be teaching my baby that “Milkies goes night-night.” This is always a sad, but new corner to turn with my babies. It officially says to me that weaning has begun, although that can be a long process, thankfully. She has been waking up and coming into bed with us since the day (early morning!) she was born but lately she has become very restless and nursing on and off from about 3:30 p.m. until morning, scratching my stomach up and kicking DH. Somehow the Psalm mentioning having “peace like a weaned child” ran through my mind and I knew it was time to end the nighttime nursing. And I was right, mostly. I told her what to expect, that “milkies” would be going night-night and when she awoke that first night, she really didn’t cry like I thought she might…sort of settled into the crook of my arm and slept fitfully more or less ’til early morning. Same last night, although I’ve had to get up while dark each morning to take her to a chair to nurse. I am praying that tonight she’ll settle quickly, or maybe even sleep all night (ha! that would be a first!!). Changes are hard…but usually for the better.

5 Comments

Filed under Babies & Kids, Uncategorized

5 responses to “The Third Night is the Charm, Right?

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Blanton Family

    When on EARTH did you find time to make #4?????

    We are happily watching #3 to walk, at 15 months old.

    Happy November! We will always remember Reilly’s birth in a special way bc of you. As we are as busy (if not more than you) please keep us on your blog list. We love to hear your comments in Sasebo, Japan!
    LOve,
    Brett,Michelle, Alexis, Reilly and Kiran

  3. Jen

    Nothing like being shamed on someone’s blog! I am the friend she sent her blog address to who didn’t comment. I LOVE to read what you write, Jill, you know that. I think the kids Fall day in the backyard sounds wonderful…wish we could have joined you. Maybe you should come experience Fall in MO! God had a lot of fun making the colors of these leaves. I’m in awe every year! Love Jen

  4. Nita

    Hi – thanks for including us in you blog list! I love keeping up with everyone even though I am so bad at it! I love fall school days! The kids probably stretched their minds more in that one day than you had planned all week (not that I am saying you didn’t have some fabulous stuff planned ha ha ha!) but kids need to do what they are made to do PLAY!!!!!!!! I just have to remind myself it’s ok and slide whatever I had planned and know that the Lord has ultimate control over what my children learn and it’s ok! We are trying to enjoy every last day of sunshine here because once the rain starts . . . “ain’t no sunshine…” It’s a long time until we see the sun again! Keep on blogging! Love Nita

  5. Jeanne

    I recommend even more outside time until it turns cold! I will enjoy reading about your family’s adventures. Love, Jeanne

Leave a Reply

